Balad Redux
Back to the Desert

my buddy

many people refer to their replacement as their “new best friend.”  the phrase is used often enough that it’s actually a cliche here, so now anyone planning to go to iraq and not use trite expressions will know to steer clear of it.

does anyone remember saturday morning commercials for the “my buddy” doll?  it had a theme song–“i take him everywhere that i go.  my buddy and me, we can climb up a tree.  my buddy and me, we’re the best friends that can be!”  probably not.  in case you do, that’s how i feel about ltc sanders.  no, we have not climbed any trees together, but everywhere i’ve been the last 4 days (except here tonight), he’s been with me.  it’s been fun to have a companion for work, meals, exercising, and talking before lights out.  we’ve been accused of pushing our twin beds together, but that is not the case.  the rumors about pillow fights are also false.  he has said he wishes i could/would extend another rotation…of course, i’m not going to do that, but the past several days have been much more enjoyable than many of the preceding weeks.  i am more fatigued than usual, however, since he always asks several questions about my last several months for an hour or two each night before we shut up and sleep. 

otherwise, all is fairly well here.  it’s quite cold out–low to mid 20s in the mornings and evenings.  i haven’t been running outside as a result; we’ve been going to the gym instead.  we had a very formalistic command change ceremony several hours ago.  i handed my beeper to the first sergeant and said “i relinquish command.”  he then handed my beeper to ltc sanders, who said, “i accept command.”  tears and applause followed.

2 Responses to “my buddy”

  1. uh, i remember that theme song well. I think we altered the lyrics from time to time.

  2. admit it–you had a “my buddy” doll and slept with it every night. it’s okay, jim bob. i know you had 3 sisters who kept you down.

    i got this in an email: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n98v2uWX4zE&feature=related


Leave a comment